Mccain a hero

Closed Thread
Old 08-27-2018, 04:53 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,507 Times in 677 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chi-Town View Post
Wonder how our veterans feel about that.
I think this answers that question.

Veterans Group Calls Out Trump'''s '''Outrageous''' Response To John McCain'''s Death

Quote:
“AMVETS is calling on the White House to show appropriate respect for the passing of Sen. McCain,” AMVETS tweeted. “He was a war hero, twice a presidential contender, and a national treasure who devoted his entire adult life to protecting and improving the American way of life.”

The American Legion, another prominent veterans organization, also called on Trump to issue an “appropriate” proclamation honoring McCain’s legacy and ordering the nation’s flags be lowered to half-staff through the interment of his body.
Old 08-28-2018, 08:15 AM
Gold member

I'm a patriotic Vietnam Veteran who doesn't care much about the half-staff issue. I also think that too many times the media calls people "heroes" who are no such thing. A person must do something heroic to deserve such an honorific. That being said, John McCain was truly an American Hero. He was in very bad shape in the prisoner of war camp, had been tortured, and had an opportunity to be released early by the North Vietnamese (his father was the commander of all forces in Vietnam at the time and they were looking for a propaganda win), but Sen. McCain refused as other American prisoners had been there longer than him, and he insisted that they should get out first. That is a heroic thing to do. RIP Senator McCain.
Old 08-28-2018, 08:25 AM
Sage
Thanked 2,244 Times in 707 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdNoMore View Post
Be careful. I understand (as of 5:30 AM) that the newest CT (conspiracy theory) is that Google is anti American and is "playing" with search results.

Anyone else google themselves first thing in the morning.?

Wonder who created this flag issue...NFL, MLB, CNN ? Now suspect Google.