Relocating from NY to back to Florida

Closed Thread
Old 07-06-2021, 09:03 AM
Default Relocating from NY to back to Florida

I am retired, and I am a former resident of Florida. Three years ago I left Florida and I am renting in NY. I have a NY driver’s license and my vehicles are registered in NY. Subsequently I purchased a home in The Villages and listed it as my secondary residence. I have recently heard about how my taxes can be raised “indiscriminately” unless I become a resident. I am now considering making Florida my permanent home again with long visits to NY from time to time. Does anyone foresee a problem with NY?
Old 07-06-2021, 09:55 AM
Platinum member
Thanked 1,707 Times in 761 Posts

If you are talking about property taxes there is a homestead exemption available if Florida is your primary home. See your Florida county tax assessor site for more information. New York State income tax is a different topic and more complicated

Last edited by Babubhat; 07-06-2021 at 09:57 AM. Reason: Add
Old 07-06-2021, 10:03 AM
Veteran member

I know a couple people that spend a decent amount of time in NY. One is a CEO and she documents everything as to her location as NY came after her for taxes two years ago and she proved they had no claim.

My experience with NY was when I stopped working in Manhattan as NJ resident. 3 years went by and they came after me for owed. taxes for 97. We calculated it again, I owed about $50. We paid it. Some months later, I got the same notice for 98. I owed about $35 and we paid it. Some months later I got the notice for 99. The difference was in 99, I worked 9 months in NY. We calculated it out, they owed me about $75. We filed, got a notice that it was beyond that statute of limitation for refunds and they owed me nothing.

My takeaway from that, to steal a description from Matt Taibbi, is that NY is a vampire squid jamming it's blood funnel into anything that smells like money.