Retirement: Best Thing about not having a Boss

Closed Thread
Old 02-02-2015, 06:01 PM

Not everyone adjusts well to retirement, especially if you get your self worth from your career. I just know I can be equally as successful at learning to line dance, and I've always wanted to learn to quilt. And my golf game needs work.
Old 02-02-2015, 06:04 PM

What do you miss, rubicon?
Old 02-02-2015, 06:51 PM
Sage

The best part of retirement and no boss is FREEDOM to do what you want when you want or even if you don't want. Your life is once again yours to claim! Took me a few time in and out of retirement to figure this out, but at 65 I am content and no longer have the need to work to be who I really am.
Old 02-03-2015, 12:34 PM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by DruannB View Post
I'm a professor and former journalist. Deadlines are my life. I can't wait until I set my own schedule--and bathroom breaks. We plan to buy in TV this summer and I will retire at the end of the 2015-16 school year...fingers crossed. I'm not sure I can quit cold turkey, however. I've been working at my home desk today for about 12 hours. How do you just stop that kind of living cold?
I worked in the auto industry for 30 years....most of the last 10 years I was scheduled 13 days on 1 day off (NY state labor law) I loved my job (skilled trade machine repair) I was worried what i would do with my time when I retired ....I got out at 49 and moved here when just turning 50....that was 13 years ago....it was the best decision I ever made....there's so many things you can choose to do... or not do anything at all, it's your choice
Old 02-03-2015, 12:46 PM
Gold member

Wow...
Attached Thumbnails
The Villages Florida: Click image for larger version

Name:	Do my own taxes.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	87.6 KB
ID:	47389  
Old 02-03-2015, 01:04 PM
Email Reported As Spam

Quote:
Originally Posted by pbkmaine View Post
What do you miss, rubicon?