Understanding Medicare and options

Closed Thread
Old 09-20-2014, 10:16 PM
Veteran member

64 turning 65 soon and just as confused as the rest. With that I did find a booklet on the Medicare Website which really helped.

Maybe this will help answer some of the more basic questions:

MEDICARE and YOU FOR 2015

Download handbook in different formats | Medicare.gov

Old 09-20-2014, 10:21 PM

I know
Old 09-20-2014, 10:24 PM

Some Shine members are volunteers and some are paid by the Government How about that?
Old 09-21-2014, 10:58 PM
Gold member

I'm in the same boat as I am new to Medicare! I had a couple of interesting medical appointments a few weeks ago.

I was at a local hospital for a "standing" lab that was written a couple years ago. The hospital told me that these basic labs are no longer covered as they were written. The hospital also told me that they are finding if Medicare denies your claim that the secondary insurance company is also denying the claim. The hospital rep told that this started in late July/early August.

Later that same day I mentioned this to my chiropractor. He said he is finding the same thing in everythingi he is reading. And believe me, he researches everything!

So, my response to both of them was "so why am I going to pay over $200 a month for a secondary insurance that is going to deny everything"?? I decidied I am going to to hold off changing anything until my open season starts in November.

On Friday, I saw another doctor. His wife is researching supplemental insurance options right now. He told me that his wife called the BC/BS Michigan office just last week. She was told by BC/BS that their premiums were going to raise dramatically in the near future. His wife has found in her research that Mutual of Omaha has a good supplemental policy so I am going to check them out.
Old 09-22-2014, 03:50 AM
Sage