Veterans from Vietnam & earlier

Closed Thread
Old 12-30-2019, 09:30 AM

I too as of the Vietnam era and so many of my classmates were drafted, killed and came home missing limbs and/or with tremendous physical and mental problems. My heart still hurts for each of them and what they went through. I have much respect for each who served but always more for the Vietnam Veterans. It was such a turbulent time and they were in the middle of all of it. I graduated HS in 1967 and went on with my life , while so many friends who went to Vietnam missed that part. I feel the utmost respect for you and any documentary, book or news item about Vietnam still makes me weep for them. Bless them.
Old 12-30-2019, 09:31 AM
Veteran member

I was just wondering how anybody would know that you were a veteran if they just met you. Or if they just saw you somewhere did you have a hat or a shirt informing the public that you were a veteran. Just wondering as there are many professions and also have put their lives on the line example Police Department fire department border patrol. There are also many professions that save lives like doctors Etc. I usually don't see many of them wearing their hats and shirts although are some. I know this is not true for all veterans. Is it go as a young person I was in a VFW Post with my father and ask him a question about one of the people there. I asked about the guy who is sitting by himself and not involved with the rest of the fellows talk to you about politics and things. My father told me that the guy who sat there by himself not getting involved was one of the fellows that hit the beach at Normandy. Never talked about it never wanted recognition just did his job. Some of the loudmouths we're the guys who handed out underwear at Fort Dix. This is not true for everybody but this is my personal experience I like to thank everybody that served and did their time
Old 12-30-2019, 11:47 AM

What I think: "I didn't do it for you."