What a farce for vaccinations

Closed Thread
Old 01-10-2021, 10:21 AM
Gold member
Thanked 1,298 Times in 491 Posts

The Health Departments have proven to be incompetent in getting the vaccine out. Phone systems that crash, Mass chaos at first come first served drive up sites, websites that overload, etc.

Publix on the other hand already had an online system for vaccine appointments and deployed it with great success. I say pull all the vaccines out of the HD's except what is needed for patients in extended care facilities, and those who cannot go out and ship it to Publix. The have their act together.
Old 01-10-2021, 10:31 AM
Gold member

Don't go the "I'm a veteran" route when you complain about this. So am I and so are hundred of others in The Villages. I saw this fiasco coming a mile away. We had a plan for the vaccine but not for the vaccination. I have many good ideas to get this vaccination rolling at a bigger scale. But, too much politics are involved and too many people have connections to get a shot.
Old 01-10-2021, 10:32 AM
Gold member

The VA is currently at age group over 75 according to my recent email.
Old 01-10-2021, 10:41 AM
Sage
Thanked 13,670 Times in 5,225 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aloha1 View Post
The Health Departments have proven to be incompetent in getting the vaccine out. Phone systems that crash, Mass chaos at first come first served drive up sites, websites that overload, etc.

Publix on the other hand already had an online system for vaccine appointments and deployed it with great success. I say pull all the vaccines out of the HD's except what is needed for patients in extended care facilities, and those who cannot go out and ship it to Publix. The have their act together.
What's the difference? Both Publix and the Health Department have a website to schedule an appointment, but you can't get an appointment on either one. The Publix website just tells you to check back every day for updates.
Old 01-10-2021, 12:17 PM