Any sailors out there?

Closed Thread
Old 07-04-2011, 08:50 AM
Location: Endwell (NY), Cherry Hill (NJ), Naperville (IL), Philadelphia (PA), Tamarind Grove
Default Any sailors out there?

I'm looking to join a group of people who enjoy sailing. I'm not very experienced, but take directions well. Aso I'd be interested in finding out if there is anyplace that offers sailing lessons near TV.
Old 07-04-2011, 09:00 AM
Veteran member
Location: Wheatfield, NY - next to Niagara Falls; Village of St. James

Quote:
Originally Posted by taylor111947 View Post
I'm looking to join a group of people who enjoy sailing. I'm not very experienced, but take directions well. Aso I'd be interested in finding out if there is anyplace that offers sailing lessons near TV.
The dawg, Lexi, is the Navy Seabee Mascot.......that's about as close as we get to being a Sailor!
Old 07-04-2011, 10:32 AM
Sage

According to the list of TV clubs, there is a sailing club that meets at 10AM on the second Wednesday monthly at Lake Miona. Contact Rich Mosher, 352-259-2585.
List of TV clubs: www.districtgov.org/images/ClubsListing.pdf See pg. 69.
Old 07-04-2011, 10:34 AM
Default Sailing Club

Go this link and search for sailing club. It will list when they meet and who to contact.

Plymouth (MA)
Lexington (MA)
Old 07-04-2011, 03:20 PM
Veteran member

Yeah, but I got out in 1972.
Old 07-04-2011, 07:07 PM
Platinum member

Quote:
Originally Posted by taylor111947 View Post
Oh to be young again. I was a "rag ******" (sail boat sailor) for years. Those years finally caught up with me. No longer was I able to wrestle a genny (genoa sail) on the fore deck when the wind piped up to 25 knots. Substituted sail with a stink pot (power boat). Soon tired of dashing around in a noisy, bumpy, wet boat. Dropped my anchor for the last time and came ashore.