intended line of swing.......area around the ball if stepped on would have raised water
have to judge both ends......obviously they didn't around the ball
you could see the splash after he hit.........will send email address for TOTV to USGA for the next time
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianL99
I'm surprised the USGA didn't do an emergency post on TOTV, just to make sure they were making the right call.
The Rule requires "standing water" ... not "squishy ground".
"Temporary Water
Any temporary accumulation of water on the surface of the ground (such as puddles from rain or irrigation or an overflow from a body of water) that:
Is not in a penalty area, and
Can be seen before or after the player takes a stance (without pressing down excessively with his or her feet).
It is not enough for the ground to be merely wet, muddy or soft or for the water to be momentarily visible as the player steps on the ground; an accumulation of water must remain present either before or after the stance is taken."
|