Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   Pro Golf (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/pro-golf-333/)
-   -   Did the USGA make a bad ruling in the US Open? (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/pro-golf-333/did-usga-make-bad-ruling-us-open-359444/)

SHIBUMI 06-17-2025 09:02 AM

Did the USGA make a bad ruling in the US Open?
 
Well, time to open this one up. I think they did. And it took 2 of them to do it! Sam Burns was smart to ask for a second opinion but it did no good.

Obvious water was moved during his practice swings. But, when he took his stance no water was seen. His ball was in 1 1/2 inches of primary rough sitting up. Did anyone put a tee in the ground around the ball to see if there was a water level? Did anyone stand near the ball and see if it was squishy. Not sure but his ball was sitting atop grass that was water logged underneath as displayed by his shot.

So if you don't know the rules, don't feel so bad as the rules makers can make mistakes as well, more costly.

I think it was a bad call. what do you think?:Screen_of_Death:

Taltarzac725 06-17-2025 09:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SHIBUMI (Post 2439630)
Well, time to open this one up. I think they did. And it took 2 of them to do it! Sam Burns was smart to ask for a second opinion but it did no good.

Obvious water was moved during his practice swings. But, when he took his stance no water was seen. His ball was in 1 1/2 inches of primary rough sitting up. Did anyone put a tee in the ground around the ball to see if there was a water level? Did anyone stand near the ball and see if it was squishy. Not sure but his ball was sitting atop grass that was water logged underneath as displayed by his shot.

So if you don't know the rules, don't feel so bad as the rules makers can make mistakes as well, more costly.

I think it was a bad call. what do you think?:Screen_of_Death:

What happened with the shot?

retiredguy123 06-17-2025 09:33 AM

To clarify, it looks like the ball is in the fairway, not in the rough.

SHIBUMI 06-17-2025 02:35 PM

Rough
 
Ball in first rough cut


Quote:

Originally Posted by retiredguy123 (Post 2439642)
To clarify, it looks like the ball is in the fairway, not in the rough.


SHIBUMI 06-17-2025 02:36 PM

splash
 
splash happens ball curves left uncharacteristically


Quote:

Originally Posted by Taltarzac725 (Post 2439641)
What happened with the shot?


justjim 06-17-2025 02:49 PM

Tough break for Burns but who are we to say that the two rules officials were wrong. It’s water over the dam now. Fore.

retiredguy123 06-17-2025 02:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SHIBUMI (Post 2439692)
Ball in first rough cut

According to Golf.com and AI, the ball was in the fairway. Also, the videos seem to indicate the same.

The ruling was a judgement call and he got two opinions. I was satisfied with the ruling.

SHIBUMI 06-17-2025 05:20 PM

Thanks
 
Ball was in fairway.........still don't agree with the call..splash,splash, officials should have done a tee test of area.............


Quote:

Originally Posted by retiredguy123 (Post 2439696)
According to Golf.com and AI, the ball was in the fairway. Also, the videos seem to indicate the same.

The ruling was a judgement call and he got two opinions. I was satisfied with the ruling.


BrianL99 06-17-2025 05:28 PM

I'm surprised the USGA didn't do an emergency post on TOTV, just to make sure they were making the right call.

The Rule requires "standing water" ... not "squishy ground".

"Temporary Water

Any temporary accumulation of water on the surface of the ground (such as puddles from rain or irrigation or an overflow from a body of water) that:

Is not in a penalty area, and

Can be seen before or after the player takes a stance (without pressing down excessively with his or her feet).

It is not enough for the ground to be merely wet, muddy or soft or for the water to be momentarily visible as the player steps on the ground; an accumulation of water must remain present either before or after the stance is taken."

dtennent 06-17-2025 06:09 PM

While I felt badly for Sam Burns, his play on other holes took him out of contention. JJ Spaun sunk an incredible putt on the last hole to win. After his terrible start for the day, what a great way to win!

retiredguy123 06-17-2025 06:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dtennent (Post 2439713)
While I felt badly for Sam Burns, his play on other holes took him out of contention. JJ Spaun sunk an incredible putt on the last hole to win. After his terrible start for the day, what a great way to win!

For the record, Spaun made a long putt on the last hole to win by 2 strokes, so he didn't really need to make the putt. Burns lost by 5 strokes, and he was 8 over par on last round.

SHIBUMI 06-17-2025 10:28 PM

Not talking about stance
 
intended line of swing.......area around the ball if stepped on would have raised water
have to judge both ends......obviously they didn't around the ball

you could see the splash after he hit.........will send email address for TOTV to USGA for the next time

Quote:

Originally Posted by BrianL99 (Post 2439709)
I'm surprised the USGA didn't do an emergency post on TOTV, just to make sure they were making the right call.

The Rule requires "standing water" ... not "squishy ground".

"Temporary Water

Any temporary accumulation of water on the surface of the ground (such as puddles from rain or irrigation or an overflow from a body of water) that:

Is not in a penalty area, and

Can be seen before or after the player takes a stance (without pressing down excessively with his or her feet).

It is not enough for the ground to be merely wet, muddy or soft or for the water to be momentarily visible as the player steps on the ground; an accumulation of water must remain present either before or after the stance is taken."


Rwirish 06-18-2025 05:01 AM

Bad break for Sam, right call.

Mrfriendly 06-18-2025 06:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SHIBUMI (Post 2439630)
Well, time to open this one up. I think they did. And it took 2 of them to do it! Sam Burns was smart to ask for a second opinion but it did no good.

Obvious water was moved during his practice swings. But, when he took his stance no water was seen. His ball was in 1 1/2 inches of primary rough sitting up. Did anyone put a tee in the ground around the ball to see if there was a water level? Did anyone stand near the ball and see if it was squishy. Not sure but his ball was sitting atop grass that was water logged underneath as displayed by his shot.

So if you don't know the rules, don't feel so bad as the rules makers can make mistakes as well, more costly.

I think it was a bad call. what do you think?:Screen_of_Death:

Although I belong to 18 country clubs here in Florida I don’t have my own caddy to rub my balls or have rules officials come out when I ask for clarification to better my ball position due to course conditions, I’ll put any prejudices against professional players on TV aside. I think Sam had to endure two bad calls by the officials.
And I’m sorry he got his feet wet.

LoisR 06-18-2025 07:18 AM

Squishyness doesn't count, unless your making sushi. You need to see it to believe it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.32 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2025 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.