Quote:
Originally Posted by SHIBUMI
Well, time to open this one up. I think they did. And it took 2 of them to do it! Sam Burns was smart to ask for a second opinion but it did no good.
Obvious water was moved during his practice swings. But, when he took his stance no water was seen. His ball was in 1 1/2 inches of primary rough sitting up. Did anyone put a tee in the ground around the ball to see if there was a water level? Did anyone stand near the ball and see if it was squishy. Not sure but his ball was sitting atop grass that was water logged underneath as displayed by his shot.
So if you don't know the rules, don't feel so bad as the rules makers can make mistakes as well, more costly.
I think it was a bad call. what do you think? 
|
Although I belong to 18 country clubs here in Florida I don’t have my own caddy to rub my balls or have rules officials come out when I ask for clarification to better my ball position due to course conditions, I’ll put any prejudices against professional players on TV aside. I think Sam had to endure two bad calls by the officials.
And I’m sorry he got his feet wet.