Star EV Sirius 2+2 speed

Closed Thread
Old 07-26-2023, 07:04 AM
Smile Star EV Sirius 2+2 speed

Hello everyone. I’m new at the Villages and am purchasing a Star EV Sirius 2+2 model.
My question is for those that may already own one.

Is the cart capable of being programmed for top speed of 24mph?
I was down on a lifestyle visit and the EZGO I was given was governed to 20 and everyone was passing us and would constantly require us to pull over and let folks go in hopes of avoiding a backup on the trails.

I know its common for folks with the gas powered cars to have their cars speed governor adjusted so they get better speed but was uncertain if the same can be done to an electric cart like the Star.

Thanks in advance for any guidance you can provide.
Old 07-26-2023, 07:25 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSRusso View Post
Hello everyone. I’m new at the Villages and am purchasing a Star EV Sirius 2+2 model.

I was down on a lifestyle visit and the EZGO I was given was governed to 20 and everyone was passing us and would constantly require us to pull over and let folks go in hopes of avoiding a backup on the trails.

I know its common for folks with the gas powered cars to have their cars speed governor adjusted so they get better speed but was uncertain if the same can be done to an electric cart like the Star.

Any golf cart capable of going over 20 mph is an unregistered motor vehicle, subject to a big expensive fine and a court appearance. Get in an accident, and you won't be covered by insurance. You can do 24mph in a "street legal" cart which needs to have extra safety features, but be prepared to pay high insurance rates. But yes, there are plenty of idiots who alter their governors on gas carts to go faster than 20mph.
Old 09-04-2023, 08:21 AM

Quote:

Yes, it can be adjusted higher.
Old 09-04-2023, 05:02 PM
Platinum member
Thanked 2,044 Times in 731 Posts

Quote: