Southern Oaks

Closed Thread
Old 11-17-2021, 10:45 PM
Sage
Thanked 9,089 Times in 2,750 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hape2Bhr View Post
Not babbling any more than you often do, but as a high level amateur I'd expect you could care less about the ratings and slope. And I am not particularly concerned about the rating. However the slope, which supposedly concerns the bogie golfer is a concern. The slopes here are too low. It seems as if the slope ratings have been determined by scratch golfers. I've held off participating in Men's Day, because comparable and/or better golfers had handicaps 4/5 higher than mine; but that will change. One more round will remove my last score being used from up north. My scores have been similar to the scores I brought down with me, however my handicap has already gone up by 4. Thank you course raters.

I don’t play in leagues, so I don’t bother to look at slope or rating since I don’t keep an official handicap. That being said, what you stated makes absolutely no sense, I would expect the slope and ratings at the Villages courses to be substantially lower than courses up north. The courses in the Villages are way easier than the courses I play up north. The typical course up north is longer from the white t’s than the Villages courses are from the blues. The fairways up north are much narrower and less forgiving, out of bounds markers are frequently in play, forced carries are very common, the rough is typically much longer, the sand in the traps is poorer quality and very inconsistent, and the weather typically adds an additional challenge. The only things easier about northern courses are that there is more grass under your ball in the fairways and the bent grass green accept a ball better and roll more consistently than Bermuda. However, the new hybrid greens at Tierra Del Sol and Lopez are very nice and play much more like bent grass. I assume the greens at Southern Oaks are the hybrid greens?