Newbie here to Village of Newell: seeking internet service

Closed Thread
Old 07-11-2023, 06:40 AM

I recently set up wifi service with Spectrum--internet only. I stream TV programs with online services and use the basic free Spectrum for news, etc. I went online first and typed Internet Service near me. Search engine produced several companies and you will see the companies that can cover your area. Then I made a little chart: Data caps? Delivery rate. Total cost (is modem included or extra etc.) As we are only here part time, this works very well for us. We have the option of adding programs (for a fee), but so far it's working well for us from the TV entertainment standpoint. Have no issues with Internet speed. But if you are working from home, you may need more oomph from your service provider.
Old 07-11-2023, 06:44 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLonzo View Post
I'm in the same boat and have similar questions. Aside from the 'Talk of The Villages' forums, how does one find out about internet service? I'll be in Monarch Grove -- how do I know what providers service that area? or if fiber optic service is available? When I contacted CDD asking about internet service, they mentioned Comcast and Xfinity but not Spectrum. Is this right? Who to believe? Doesn't TV provide some sort of official guidance which lists the options for internet setup?
We are in Monarch Grove and have Spectrum. The house was originally set up for xfinity so spectrum had to run a line which was no big deal. No problems with Spectrum.
Old 07-11-2023, 07:34 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by kathysue View Post
Am interested in modem/router. Please call me at 217-259-5843. My name is Kathy. Thanks

Make sure you purchase a wireless router with the newest technology…6E+!
Old 07-11-2023, 07:41 AM
Default Centric 1 fiber gig wireless router pre installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Normal View Post
Spectrum is whom we have. We are about 5 blocks from Newell in Citrus Grove. We have up to 500 mbps.