Operating system hard drive problems

Closed Thread
Old 09-05-2010, 05:18 AM
Default Operating system hard drive problems

I was working with a service tech online with Macfee. Was having a problem reinstalling the program. He said I have a problem with my Operating system hard drive that needs to be fixed. Any sugestions who or were to go for help?
Old 09-05-2010, 06:45 AM
Gold member

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassman View Post
I was working with a service tech online with Macfee. Was having a problem reinstalling the program. He said I have a problem with my Operating system hard drive that needs to be fixed. Any sugestions who or were to go for help?
I can't help you with anyone local to help you with your particular problem. Have you tried Windows Security Essentials? It's free and I've been using it for several months without a problem. Here is the link if you'd like to try it. It's a simple installation.

http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/

Xavier
Old 09-05-2010, 06:51 AM
Platinum member

How long has your computer been acting funny? How old is your computer? Vista? XP or Apple? You could always restore the hard drive to an earlier date and see if that fixes the problem. If nothing changes, you can always undo the restore point to current. Did you try inactivating the Macfee for an hour and going to safe places to see if the computer is still having problems. Sometime the virus protection is what causes these problems.
Old 09-05-2010, 07:06 AM
Eternal Member

Kind of hard to believe if you haven't been having problems that you would run into problems trying to reinstall an app. Maybe MacAfee is having a problem.

Have you tried running the normal tests on your hard drive using the Tools provided by Windows??

Anyway, if the scan test fails, try MMD on rt 441/27 near 466. They will take care of it for you.

109 S. US Hwy 27/441
Lady Lake, Fl 32159
(352) 750-3707

http://www.mmdcomputers.com/storeinfo.asp