Windows put a loud message on computer that I had been hacked.

Old 01-27-2024, 11:33 AM
Sage
Thanked 3,319 Times in 2,056 Posts
Default Windows put a loud message on computer that I had been hacked.

I am back up but have no idea what actually happened with that. I was looking at a quote by a writer and then my computer starts blaring that I should not shut it down as it noted suspicious activity.

The guy I called said I had been hacked by someone in Beijing. To my knowledge I know no one there.

It happened while I could not get on Talk of the Villages today.

Wanted to make a note of it. I have no knowledge about what they were doing other than what the guy on the phone said they had been doing. Which I will keep to myself.

Last edited by Taltarzac725; 01-27-2024 at 11:44 AM.
Old 01-27-2024, 11:40 AM
Sage
Thanked 5,390 Times in 2,068 Posts

I hope you didn't dial any number that popped up on the screen. I REALLY hope you didn't type any commands that the guy at that number asked you to type.

The more attention-getting the message was (pop ups, flashing, large letters, blaring sound) the more likely it was an attempt to get you to dial a number and give up personal information.

If I saw something like that I would:
- Disconnect from the internet (disable wifi or unplug the network cable)
- Close all applications, particularly my web browser
- Run anti-virus and anti-malware packages
- Open the web browser again and probably clear recent history and cache
- Reconnect to the internet
- Avoid that particular web page

Victor, NY
Randallstown, MD
Yakima, WA
Stevensville, MD
Village of Hillsborough
Old 01-27-2024, 11:43 AM
Sage
Thanked 13,739 Times in 5,253 Posts

The loud message was most likely not from Windows or Microsoft.