Shower re-model - Jetta Stone vs. Onyx vs. ??

Closed Thread
Old 03-01-2021, 02:16 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,665 Times in 594 Posts
Default Shower re-model - Jetta Stone vs. Onyx vs. ??

It's time to renovate a bit and I'd like to get rid of the shower tile and grout.

No prior experience in this and I'm not up for a DIY on this. I'd like input on experiences with shower remodels, both the material used and the installer / contractor. Thanks.
Old 03-01-2021, 02:56 PM
Sage
Thanked 2,954 Times in 1,160 Posts

I had Jetta Stone remodel my master bath in September. Price wise, I had two estimates, Doc's Restorations was $11,500 and Jetta Stone was $8,100, however their estimate didn't include everything.

I've been a general contractor twice on homes I've built in the past. So dealing with subs and getting what you want, is not a problem for me. I say this because Jetta Stone has a flooring contractor, if you want new tile or wood floors and a plumbing contractor. However, you have to negotiate with them separately and you need to buy your flooring on your own, which is good because you're not limited to maybe a couple choices. As for the plumbing fixtures, the plumber will only install new items that he sells. So don't bother looking at HD or Lowes for a new faucet, or saving the old one if it's almost new like mine was, or a new toilet, because he has to supply them. It's somewhat difficult to use a different plumber if you wanted, because the estimate will include the shower head, shower controls, and shower hand holds installed by that plumber. So it was easiest to just let him do it all and buy his faucet and toilet.