need help on guidelines for doing business with a contractor

Closed Thread
Old 11-15-2011, 02:12 PM
Send a message via AIM to gg
Default need help on guidelines for doing business with a contractor

What do you think is a fair % of money to put down for a job.. what if they want it all before the job is done? I would like some guidance of what to do since my job is not even near complete and they want the rest of the money. I am not mentioning any companies...so do not ask...I just want to know what to do...since now they say the will not complete the job and it needs completed.

Last edited by gg; 11-15-2011 at 02:12 PM. Reason: wrong word
Old 11-15-2011, 02:23 PM

Watch out! I've been a remodeling contractor for 25+ years. I've rarely (once)asked for money to even start a job and that was because I had to order nonreturnable materials from out of State. Occasionally I'd ask for material money as the job progressed but NEVER for final payment before the work was complete. Make sure you're happy with the work BEFORE final payment just in case there are some bugs in the job. Most will be glad to accomodate you. I've also as President of a Florida condo association have signed many contracts. I will not commit more that 25% of the contract before work is started. Many want progressive payments which is ok, However, let me stress again do not make final payment until you're happy.
Old 11-15-2011, 03:12 PM

Contractors I have used in The Villages, have told me Never give a downpayment. This was landscape contractor and contractor that expanded our lanai. Also make sure they got approval from Architect Review Commitee.
Old 11-15-2011, 06:19 PM
Veteran member
Send a message via MSN to Bryan