Electrical issue in microwave box

Closed Thread
Old 05-18-2015, 03:56 PM
Sage
Default Electrical issue in microwave box

I know from years of reading TOTV there are come electricians lurking here. I was hoping for some tips on how they may debug the root issue.

I am not an electrician by trade, but know my way around general wiring issues. I am not looking for numbers for electricians you have used. I have those if the need be

The other day, microwave had no power. First time ever and I have been here since 2007. I went out to garage and found a breaker had kicked. I reset breaker and all seemed fine. A few days later I was using it and saw it power off. I 'think' I heard a pop as it did (this 'pop' may have occurred first time), sure enough breaker had tripped again.

This time I turned breaker OFF and was going to unplug and try microwave in a different outlet to further isolate issue. I had a hard time unplugging. I had to pry it off with a screw driver. The pictures explain why it would not come off.

Looking at the pictures, any explanations come to mind or next steps to further isolate? Thanks for any insight...

The Villages Florida

The Villages Florida

PS. My wife swears she has not been using an liquids in that cabinet lately. My initial thought was dirt, or something that got into plug...
Old 05-18-2015, 04:25 PM
Sage
Thanked 6,160 Times in 2,252 Posts