Closed Thread
Old 02-08-2022, 09:21 AM
Gold member

PVC cement designed for irrigation systems:
Access Denied
Old 02-08-2022, 09:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graspher View Post
I'm deep (literally 2' deep) into my irrigation system overhaul and found a pink zone pipe with a gash in it. I have zero experience with these irrigation specific pipes.

Can I treat it like PVC when it comes to adding (pvc to pink) /gluing (same glue/primer that's used on pvc) sections to it?
Yes, it is glued like PVC piping but, it is not flexable like a usual irrigation black piping.
It is a rigid pipe so cutting out the damaged section and trying to place a new piece in is extremely difficult. I watched Massey do a repair on my damaged line. They had a rigid piece of pipe that telescoped longer when put in place and glued the ends in place to the existing rigid lines. I guess if you dig a big enough hole really big you might be able to move the piping to install a standard pvc pipe and 2 couplings.
good luck
Old 02-08-2022, 09:37 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tophcfa View Post
Wow, that’s a big project. I’m impressed. That should give you a good feeling of accomplishment when finished. Good luck.
Thanks. Yes it will - I've always felt, since purchase, that there were inefficiencies with this system, obvious lack of maintenance and no modifications post new add on landscaping since build date.

I found several grown over spray heads... among other issues over the last year. The project is warranted and overdue....and its huge. But then....I'm retired!!
Old 02-08-2022, 09:50 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catalina36 View Post
Yes, it is glued like PVC piping but, it is not flexable like a usual irrigation black piping.