golf club not returned

Closed Thread
Old 12-07-2011, 10:02 PM
Gold member
Default golf club not returned

I have been a resident of the Villages for 14 years. The first 7 of those years I worked as a starter at one of our championship courses. It was my experience that when a golfer mistakenly left a club on any of our courses it was always turned in to the starters shack. i am sorry to say this but how times have changed. My wife lost her club during one of those night golf events at Saddlebrook Golf course. Her name and address was on the shaft of the club. We can only assume that a maintenance or a fellow Villager found the club and decided to steal it, regardless of it having the owners name displayed.
Old 12-07-2011, 11:36 PM
Platinum member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warren Kiefer View Post
I have been a resident of the Villages for 14 years. The first 7 of those years I worked as a starter at one of our championship courses. It was my experience that when a golfer mistakenly left a club on any of our courses it was always turned in to the starters shack. i am sorry to say this but how times have changed. My wife lost her club during one of those night golf events at Saddlebrook Golf course. Her name and address was on the shaft of the club. We can only assume that a maintenance or a fellow Villager found the club and decided to steal it, regardless of it having the owners name displayed.
Unfortunately, this is an easy conclusion to make, and certainly an unhappy one. But have you checked with the members of the group you played with? I have experienced this a few times - a playing partner picks up someone else's club and never notices that it's in his bag. It sometimes takes weeks to track down the club.
Old 12-07-2011, 11:42 PM