Rules at Driving Range

Closed Thread
Old 08-17-2012, 05:08 AM

I was told by a ambassador when I was on a practice putting green with a tee shirt on
that the biggest problem is other residents complain all the time to him about attire.A lot.
So maybe if everyone would stop complaining so much and have fun maybe the rules would relax.IMHO
Old 08-17-2012, 06:40 AM
Sage

IMHO, the rules are in place out of respect for the game, once played by gentlemen wearing jackets, white shirts, and ties. We've come a long way!!
Old 08-17-2012, 07:07 AM
Sage
Thanked 5,507 Times in 1,907 Posts
Send a message via AIM to graciegirl

Quote:
Originally Posted by mulligan View Post
IMHO, the rules are in place out of respect for the game, once played by gentlemen wearing jackets, white shirts, and ties. We've come a long way!!

Golf is the last hold out to attire. I like it. I have been playing golf for 40 years and it is a game of gentlemen and gentlewomen. You didn't play it for free it was a rite of passage. Collared shirts were always required. People new to the game may find it hard to swallow, but I like those rules.

When I was in my forties and fifities, there was an all white rule, (don't panic...I will explain) at the nicest private clubs where you played tennis. You could only wear tennis clothing with a small percentage of color, all white shorts and shirts were required. That has changed and women don't wear hoop skirts anymore too...but I like the little tip of the hat to tradition by being required to wear proper attire on the course.

And to the person who said some time ago that if a person hit into their group, he would hit the ball back at them, I say you are not the kind of golfer I have known. My kind has always shown good etiquette on the course. And would not ever hit a retaliatory ball back at anyone. Golfers are gentlemen.
Old 08-17-2012, 07:46 AM

I like the rules also, Gracie!
Old 08-17-2012, 08:04 AM
Veteran member