Online Banking

Closed Thread
Old 01-17-2023, 08:44 AM
Default Online is the way to go

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael G. View Post
Anyone here sign up for online banking, Savings, CD's, or money market?
Are they safe?

Interest rates are great
Everything I do is online. I have about 5 banking institutions that I deal with. All my bills are on autopilot. I could leave for a month and come home and call up my accounts and everything is paid for. All my income accounts are auto deposited. I can go online and see all my accounts anywhere in the world. I never write a check except for the occasional gift to kids and grandkids. I use a credit card for all my groceries and other purchases and get points for travel. I pay off all my credit accounts and never carry a balance. That is on autopay too. I have been doing this for over 25 years. I appreciate the multi factor authentication but it is a nuisance. Can’t wait for 10 factor authentication.
Old 01-17-2023, 08:46 AM
Platinum member
Thanked 1,796 Times in 734 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123 View Post
Fidelity. One year CD, 4.65 percent, five year CD, 4.4 percent.
Hometown brick and mortar bank, 4.50 for 59 months. I’m not against online banking or Fidelity it’s just that we like laddering our own CDs and it’s very convenient. And we never have to call our advisor. ;-)
Old 01-17-2023, 08:47 AM
Sage
Thanked 7,371 Times in 2,517 Posts

Here in UK many banks have closed branch services in smaller communities, and usually have one outlet in larger towns.
My bank has stopped handling cash, you can get cash only from machine, and is now fully automated.
No tellers, just a couple of greeters who help those not familiar with the different machine points.
Nearly all banks seem to be doing their best to phase out cash, and use online and card transactions.
My opinion is cash transactions will be gone in another decade.
Old 01-17-2023, 08:54 AM
Platinum member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Two Bills View Post