Question on withholding taxes.

Closed Thread
Old 03-28-2022, 08:24 PM
Sage
Thanked 5,481 Times in 2,100 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123 View Post
For most taxpayers, your estimated payments need to equal or exceed the amount of the total tax paid in the previous year. The total tax is shown on Line 24 of the 2021 tax return. You divide that number by 4 and make that payment 4 times during the next year. For some higher income taxpayers, the formula is a little different. But, Turbotax calculates the amounts either way. So, even if you have a huge income increase in 2022, you still will not owe a tax penalty. I have been doing it that way for over 30 years, and never owed a tax penalty.
It looks like the 1040 and 2210 instructions do not agree. But, not a CPA or tax attorney so don't want to argue the point.

Victor, NY
Randallstown, MD
Yakima, WA
Stevensville, MD
Village of Hillsborough
Old 03-28-2022, 09:18 PM
Sage
Thanked 13,903 Times in 5,323 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill14564 View Post
It looks like the 1040 and 2210 instructions do not agree. But, not a CPA or tax attorney so don't want to argue the point.
I was referring to the following excerpt from the Form 2210 instructions:

"In general, you may owe the penalty for 2021 if the total of your
withholding and timely estimated tax payments didn't equal at least the
smaller of:
1. 90% of your 2021 tax, or
2. 100% of your 2020 tax. Your 2020 tax return must cover a
12-month period."

So, if you comply with item 2, you will not owe a penalty. I always pay 100 percent of the prior year tax and never owe a penalty. Note that higher income individuals may need to pay more.
Old 03-29-2022, 06:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caymus View Post