Rooftop Solar no longer growing, temp or perm?

Closed Thread
Old 11-03-2023, 05:20 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,910 Times in 1,528 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by villagetinker View Post
I think people are also starting to realize that the economics do not support solar in many states, I worked in the electric utility industry and had planned on putting solar on our house until I looked at the economics. I would be more inclined to buy into a group or neighborhood GROUND BASED solar field.
It would take a VERY progressive community to start something like that. I doubt that The Villages could bring itself to TRY something like that.
Old 11-03-2023, 05:24 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,910 Times in 1,528 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobeaston View Post
Wind is already suffering a downturn too. The company that was building wind farms off the coast of New Jersey just pulled out. The brits are limiting how much energy providers can charge for wind energy, and wind energy providers are failing because of it. It's only a matter of time that the wind energy collapses too. The ONLY way either wind or solar survives is with huge government subsidies. If they were economically feasible, they wouldn't need our tax dollars to prop them up.
Our tax dollars propped up the oil and gas industry for YEARS!
Old 11-03-2023, 05:35 PM
Sage
Thanked 4,939 Times in 2,459 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobeaston View Post
Wind is already suffering a downturn too. The company that was building wind farms off the coast of New Jersey just pulled out. The brits are limiting how much energy providers can charge for wind energy, and wind energy providers are failing because of it. It's only a matter of time that the wind energy collapses too. The ONLY way either wind or solar survives is with huge government subsidies. If they were economically feasible, they wouldn't need our tax dollars to prop them up.