Lighting for Palm Trees

Closed Thread
Old 08-12-2023, 06:44 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael 61 View Post
Thanks for your reply —

So I’m a total novice to all of this, so I need to ask some “newbie” questions - 1) If I go the DYI route for wired lighting, is there like a cord that I bury, then comes out of the ground and runs into my lanai to plug in (like a visible extension cord?) 2) and is there like a timer I set, rather than flicking on and off manually? 3) I’m electronically challenged, how easy is the DYI project, or would someone like me be better off hiring someone to do all this for me.

Thanks in advance for responding back to me - I always appreciate all the advice and wisdom you give on TOTV.
We purchased inexpensive solar lights at Lowes. They are working fine and we can move them when we need to.
Old 08-12-2023, 07:16 AM
Veteran member

Another vote for hardwiring LED lights. Our Sylvester has grown 15 feet in 7 years so I think we made the right lighting choice. To be effective the lighting needs to be adjustable & as strong as possible to reach the heights the tree will grow. They grow faster than we were led to believe
Old 08-12-2023, 10:40 AM
Default Aponuo Solar on Amazon

Quote:
Just had a brand new Sylvester Palm planted in front yard yesterday. I am now looking at lighting options. Looking at solar spotlights. Is this the way to go? Reading some online reviews that are split on solar being the most effective. Would like to hear from Villages residents who have lighted palms in their yards, and what lightning options they have used. Thanks as always for your replies.
Awesome light output on my Sylvester with 4 small LED lights and the solar panel can be outside and shrubs or flowers. Apuono solar spotlights 4-in-1 are on sale on Amazon.
Old 08-13-2023, 06:28 AM

Quote: