Looking for advice on removing all grass on CYV.

Closed Thread
Old 09-04-2013, 08:04 AM
Default Looking for advice on removing all grass on CYV.

Have a CYV which I would like to remove all the grass from the front and back yard areas and replace it with rocks. Just trying to decide the pros and cons of doing it myself versus paying a landscaper. I am physically fit enough to do it and would enjoy the satisfaction of having done it. However since I am new to homeownership in TV, I am not sure how difficult this would be to do. Seems that the sandy Florida soil would make cutting out the sod pretty easy. However I would not know where to dispose it. Are there landfills around TV that I could bring grass. Looking for some insight from others who might have done this. Also I have not spoken to a landscaper so I have no idea what it would cost to have them do it. Thanks
Old 09-04-2013, 08:33 AM

If you are looking for a landscaper to give you a fair and reasonable price call Matt Smith of Smitty Etc. 352-561-1999 he is young hard working reasonable and honest. I use him on several properties.
Old 09-04-2013, 08:52 AM
Sage
Thanked 2,154 Times in 770 Posts

I don't know how much there is, but you can always go to Lowe's and buy those paper lawn and leaf disposal bags and leave them out for the trash collector.
Once you get all the grass out, spray the soil with roundup then cover it with plastic sheeting. Put the rocks on top of the sheeting. You can use weed blankets, but weeds will eventually come through it.
The Beatlemaniacs of The Villages meet every Friday 10:00am at the O'Dell Recreation Center.

"I never considered a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend." - Thomas Jefferson to William Hamilton, April 22, 1800.
Old 09-04-2013, 08:58 AM
Sage
Thanked 5,507 Times in 1,907 Posts
Send a message via AIM to graciegirl

Run in by ARC first.
Old 09-04-2013, 08:59 AM