EYE SURGERY (LASIK)

Closed Thread
Old 09-03-2007, 04:36 PM
Platinum member
Default EYE SURGERY (LASIK)

I've been wearing glasses for 45 years and have contemplated Lasik surgery. I know the technology has improved greatly but.... Not even sure of I'm a candidate. I know a few that have had the procedure that still where glasses to read which IMHO defeats the purpose to get the surgery to begin with. I can't see :edit: without my glasses and they are the first thing I grab when I get out of bed in the morning. If you've had this procedure have you had any problems?

Steve
Old 09-03-2007, 05:26 PM
Gold member
Default Re: EYE SURGERY (LASIK)

I had this done 7 years ago. Would do it again without any hesitation. I use glasses to read but my distance vision is great! I see golf balls 250 to 300 yards out that others say how can you see that ball. I went in and had it done and have had no adjustment since.

Old 09-03-2007, 05:31 PM

Steve.

I had Lasik in 1996 (age 42) as part of the FDA trial to get it the approval to offer it as a viable alternative to glasses in the US. At the time there was over 20 years of work with it in Saudi Arabia and Russia.
Anyhow, all went well and I went 7-8 years without glasses - amazing...able to drive, see in the shower, see the clock on the bedside when I woke up. I elected to have both eyes corrected completely as there is an option to allow one eye to stay nearsighted and basically prevent the need for reading glasses. In the last 3 years, they are now able to do a new laser procedure to correct for that as well. In the last 2 years, my vision started to flounder and is now failing to the point of where I am wearing glasses again. I would still recommend lasik as I am again wearing glasses, but not to the extent of before. I can still move around comfortably in the house without them where as pre lasik, I could not do anything.