Healthcare in the villages

Closed Thread
Old 02-05-2018, 08:24 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,922 Times in 783 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by manaboutown View Post
Was this before they put in your pacemaker or afterward when you had to return because the surgeon punctured your lung putting in the pacemaker?
There are a couple of things that bother me about Gracie's experience. The first is that a surgeon nicked her lung (reported by GG to be a rare occurrence), and the second that she had to wait several hours to get into a critical care section. I am obviously very glad that she is okay, but a week stay in the hospital seems like it could have been avoided by better surgical care. And having to wait for a critical care bed with a punctured lung, well... I just don't know.

I'm not a doctor. Maybe db or GE have an answer to my concerns.
Old 02-05-2018, 10:03 PM
Sage
Location: NJ, NM, SC, PA, DC, MD, VA, NY, CA, ID and finally FL.
Thanked 4,624 Times in 1,765 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by CFrance View Post
There are a couple of things that bother me about Gracie's experience. The first is that a surgeon nicked her lung (reported by GG to be a rare occurrence), and the second that she had to wait several hours to get into a critical care section. I am obviously very glad that she is okay, but a week stay in the hospital seems like it could have been avoided by better surgical care. And having to wait for a critical care bed with a punctured lung, well... I just don't know.

GG spent a long time in hospital!

“To argue with a person who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead.” Thomas Paine
Old 02-05-2018, 10:21 PM
Sage
Thanked 5,507 Times in 1,907 Posts
Send a message via AIM to graciegirl

Quote: