Statin Safety

Closed Thread
Old 09-20-2022, 04:29 AM

Same for me. Taking over 20 years. Blood test every 6 months.
Old 09-20-2022, 04:57 AM
Default Thirty-four years on statins

Every five years or so I switch brands because I would have muscle aches. All my levels are where they are suppose to be. Works for me.
Old 09-20-2022, 05:31 AM
Veteran member

Taking them for 30 years, no problems.
Old 09-20-2022, 06:24 AM
Default Side effects from statins

Quote:
Originally Posted by cordenny View Post
Myself, husband, and mother are taking Rosuvastatin for high cholestrol. My grandmother passed away from renal failure due to medication for her high blood pressure. I am concerned about the side effects of the statins. My husband is concerned that his egfr number has declined.
Just wondering if anyone had any adverse effects from taking statins.
I’m no doctor but I believe they are looking for statin effects on liver not on the kidneys. Are you taking ibuprofen? People don’t realize that OTC meds such as Tylenol are known to cause liver problems when taken in high doses and ibuprofen is known for kidney issues. Also look for OTC meds that contain acetaminophen (Tylenol) or ibuprofen that you may not realize is in the product.
Old 09-20-2022, 07:41 AM