Vaccine and Religion

Closed Thread
Old 10-07-2021, 10:02 AM
Sage
Thanked 4,184 Times in 1,936 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123 View Post
There is a story in the news today about a woman who needs a kidney transplant. She has a friend who will provide the kidney, but the hospital will not perform the surgery unless both women get the COVID vaccine. They both refuse to get the vaccine because of their religion, so the woman is prepared to die because she cannot get the surgery. I am not an expert on religion or medicine, but, apparently the woman's religion will allow her to undergo major surgery, involving multiple drugs and medical intervention, to remove her kidney and replace it with another person's kidney, and then take anti-rejection drugs forever. But, the religion will not allow her to be vaccinated for the COVID virus. Can someone please explain how this makes any sense?
She won't die if she gets dialysis treatment.
Old 10-07-2021, 10:11 AM
Sage
Thanked 3,647 Times in 1,517 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeebean View Post
She won't die if she gets dialysis treatment.
Or they can go to another hospital where they WILL perform the LIFE SAVING operation. I don't know if the story is true, but I believe there is more to the story than we are reading.
By the way, I had a relative in the hospital for is dialysis treatment and he died with Covid. So, I guess dialysis was not the answer at that particular time. Of course, the cause of death that I received from the family was Covid.
Old 10-07-2021, 06:12 PM
Sage
Thanked 4,035 Times in 1,751 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelevision View Post

there are actually very few religions who have documented, doctrinal reasons for not believing in immunizations.
Despite the fact that it has been dominating national news, evangelical Christianity isn’t one of them.
Still, some Christians and other people of faith are citing their religion as a reason why they won’t get the COVID-19 vaccine.