Your DR appointments?

Closed Thread
Old 12-15-2020, 10:40 AM
Sage
Thanked 1,875 Times in 949 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heartnsoul View Post
I had a Dr appt for thursday but received call from office that DR wants to do a video call. I'm not interested as dont even know how to do that. So she said we can do telephone call then. Although I wasn't happy I said ok but wondering how everyone is feeling about this. Wonder if DR charges insurance co same price for phone as office visit? Am I the only one not happy over this?
I am not a doctor but covid 19 has been difficult for all. An office visit. You arrive, you likely need to touch door handles to get into the doctors office or push an elevator button etc. Then you sit in a chair to wait, fill out forms etc.

I don't like a phone visit either. Nothing is ever perfect. Irony-there was a story on the radio that dentists and staff are in the third string for getting a covid vaccine. As suggested by the person who phoned in they cannot possibly inspect your teeth, clean your teeth etc remotely.

I hope this will be over soon. Till then we all will be inconvenienced.
Old 12-15-2020, 10:45 AM

O
Quote:
Originally Posted by allsport View Post
You are protecting your doctor and yourself. If you have significant issues they will see you, if not, this is best for all. Buy a BP cuff, a pulse ox and a thermometer to keep check on your health. They are all cheap and automatic. They may save your life. Believe in science, it will save your life.
All 3 can be brought from Amazon for less than $100 and are automatic. Wide variety depending on how many bells and whistles desired. I brought a pulse ox as soon as it was suggested. If you have history of high blood pressure it may be a benefit of your insurance. Frankly, who doesn't have a thermometer?
I like the option of Tele visit for routine visits. If it is something urgent or new then I want to be seen in person but skipping waiting room is best.