Did the USGA make a bad ruling in the US Open? Did the USGA make a bad ruling in the US Open? - Talk of The Villages Florida

Did the USGA make a bad ruling in the US Open?

Reply
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-17-2025, 09:02 AM
SHIBUMI SHIBUMI is offline
Veteran member
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 552
Thanks: 1
Thanked 249 Times in 125 Posts
Default Did the USGA make a bad ruling in the US Open?

Well, time to open this one up. I think they did. And it took 2 of them to do it! Sam Burns was smart to ask for a second opinion but it did no good.

Obvious water was moved during his practice swings. But, when he took his stance no water was seen. His ball was in 1 1/2 inches of primary rough sitting up. Did anyone put a tee in the ground around the ball to see if there was a water level? Did anyone stand near the ball and see if it was squishy. Not sure but his ball was sitting atop grass that was water logged underneath as displayed by his shot.

So if you don't know the rules, don't feel so bad as the rules makers can make mistakes as well, more costly.

I think it was a bad call. what do you think?
__________________
SHIBUMI
  #2  
Old 06-17-2025, 09:28 AM
Taltarzac725's Avatar
Taltarzac725 Taltarzac725 is online now
Sage
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 51,851
Thanks: 11,254
Thanked 4,045 Times in 2,447 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHIBUMI View Post
Well, time to open this one up. I think they did. And it took 2 of them to do it! Sam Burns was smart to ask for a second opinion but it did no good.

Obvious water was moved during his practice swings. But, when he took his stance no water was seen. His ball was in 1 1/2 inches of primary rough sitting up. Did anyone put a tee in the ground around the ball to see if there was a water level? Did anyone stand near the ball and see if it was squishy. Not sure but his ball was sitting atop grass that was water logged underneath as displayed by his shot.

So if you don't know the rules, don't feel so bad as the rules makers can make mistakes as well, more costly.

I think it was a bad call. what do you think?
What happened with the shot?
  #3  
Old 06-17-2025, 09:33 AM
retiredguy123 retiredguy123 is offline
Sage
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 17,172
Thanks: 2,994
Thanked 16,354 Times in 6,441 Posts
Default

To clarify, it looks like the ball is in the fairway, not in the rough.
  #4  
Old 06-17-2025, 02:35 PM
SHIBUMI SHIBUMI is offline
Veteran member
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 552
Thanks: 1
Thanked 249 Times in 125 Posts
Default Rough

Ball in first rough cut


Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123 View Post
To clarify, it looks like the ball is in the fairway, not in the rough.
__________________
SHIBUMI
  #5  
Old 06-17-2025, 02:36 PM
SHIBUMI SHIBUMI is offline
Veteran member
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 552
Thanks: 1
Thanked 249 Times in 125 Posts
Default splash

splash happens ball curves left uncharacteristically


Quote:
Originally Posted by Taltarzac725 View Post
What happened with the shot?
__________________
SHIBUMI
  #6  
Old 06-17-2025, 02:49 PM
justjim justjim is offline
Sage
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Illinois, Tennesee, Florida, Village of Caroline, Sanibel, LaBelle
Posts: 6,095
Thanks: 60
Thanked 1,738 Times in 732 Posts
Default

Tough break for Burns but who are we to say that the two rules officials were wrong. It’s water over the dam now. Fore.
__________________
Most people are as happy as they make up their mind to be. Abraham Lincoln
  #7  
Old 06-17-2025, 02:59 PM
retiredguy123 retiredguy123 is offline
Sage
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 17,172
Thanks: 2,994
Thanked 16,354 Times in 6,441 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHIBUMI View Post
Ball in first rough cut
According to Golf.com and AI, the ball was in the fairway. Also, the videos seem to indicate the same.

The ruling was a judgement call and he got two opinions. I was satisfied with the ruling.
  #8  
Old 06-17-2025, 05:20 PM
SHIBUMI SHIBUMI is offline
Veteran member
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 552
Thanks: 1
Thanked 249 Times in 125 Posts
Default Thanks

Ball was in fairway.........still don't agree with the call..splash,splash, officials should have done a tee test of area.............


Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123 View Post
According to Golf.com and AI, the ball was in the fairway. Also, the videos seem to indicate the same.

The ruling was a judgement call and he got two opinions. I was satisfied with the ruling.
__________________
SHIBUMI
  #9  
Old 06-17-2025, 05:28 PM
BrianL99 BrianL99 is offline
Sage
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 3,315
Thanks: 296
Thanked 3,306 Times in 1,281 Posts
Default

I'm surprised the USGA didn't do an emergency post on TOTV, just to make sure they were making the right call.

The Rule requires "standing water" ... not "squishy ground".

"Temporary Water

Any temporary accumulation of water on the surface of the ground (such as puddles from rain or irrigation or an overflow from a body of water) that:

Is not in a penalty area, and

Can be seen before or after the player takes a stance (without pressing down excessively with his or her feet).

It is not enough for the ground to be merely wet, muddy or soft or for the water to be momentarily visible as the player steps on the ground; an accumulation of water must remain present either before or after the stance is taken."
__________________
God made me and gave me the right to remain silent, but not the ability. Sen John Kennedy (R-La)
  #10  
Old 06-17-2025, 06:09 PM
dtennent dtennent is offline
Veteran member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 519
Thanks: 57
Thanked 517 Times in 235 Posts
Default

While I felt badly for Sam Burns, his play on other holes took him out of contention. JJ Spaun sunk an incredible putt on the last hole to win. After his terrible start for the day, what a great way to win!
__________________
“There is no such thing as a normal period of history. Normality is a fiction of economic textbooks.”

— Joan Robinson, “Contributions to Modern Economics” (1978)
  #11  
Old 06-17-2025, 06:15 PM
retiredguy123 retiredguy123 is offline
Sage
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 17,172
Thanks: 2,994
Thanked 16,354 Times in 6,441 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtennent View Post
While I felt badly for Sam Burns, his play on other holes took him out of contention. JJ Spaun sunk an incredible putt on the last hole to win. After his terrible start for the day, what a great way to win!
For the record, Spaun made a long putt on the last hole to win by 2 strokes, so he didn't really need to make the putt. Burns lost by 5 strokes, and he was 8 over par on last round.
  #12  
Old 06-17-2025, 10:28 PM
SHIBUMI SHIBUMI is offline
Veteran member
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 552
Thanks: 1
Thanked 249 Times in 125 Posts
Default Not talking about stance

intended line of swing.......area around the ball if stepped on would have raised water
have to judge both ends......obviously they didn't around the ball

you could see the splash after he hit.........will send email address for TOTV to USGA for the next time

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianL99 View Post
I'm surprised the USGA didn't do an emergency post on TOTV, just to make sure they were making the right call.

The Rule requires "standing water" ... not "squishy ground".

"Temporary Water

Any temporary accumulation of water on the surface of the ground (such as puddles from rain or irrigation or an overflow from a body of water) that:

Is not in a penalty area, and

Can be seen before or after the player takes a stance (without pressing down excessively with his or her feet).

It is not enough for the ground to be merely wet, muddy or soft or for the water to be momentarily visible as the player steps on the ground; an accumulation of water must remain present either before or after the stance is taken."
__________________
SHIBUMI
  #13  
Old Yesterday, 05:01 AM
Rwirish Rwirish is offline
Gold member
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,039
Thanks: 5
Thanked 999 Times in 459 Posts
Default

Bad break for Sam, right call.
  #14  
Old Yesterday, 06:44 AM
Mrfriendly Mrfriendly is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 324
Thanks: 200
Thanked 177 Times in 109 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHIBUMI View Post
Well, time to open this one up. I think they did. And it took 2 of them to do it! Sam Burns was smart to ask for a second opinion but it did no good.

Obvious water was moved during his practice swings. But, when he took his stance no water was seen. His ball was in 1 1/2 inches of primary rough sitting up. Did anyone put a tee in the ground around the ball to see if there was a water level? Did anyone stand near the ball and see if it was squishy. Not sure but his ball was sitting atop grass that was water logged underneath as displayed by his shot.

So if you don't know the rules, don't feel so bad as the rules makers can make mistakes as well, more costly.

I think it was a bad call. what do you think?
Although I belong to 18 country clubs here in Florida I don’t have my own caddy to rub my balls or have rules officials come out when I ask for clarification to better my ball position due to course conditions, I’ll put any prejudices against professional players on TV aside. I think Sam had to endure two bad calls by the officials.
And I’m sorry he got his feet wet.
__________________
Bill
NJ Shore
  #15  
Old Yesterday, 07:18 AM
LoisR LoisR is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 197
Thanks: 4
Thanked 271 Times in 91 Posts
Default

Squishyness doesn't count, unless your making sushi. You need to see it to believe it.
Reply

Tags
water, ball, bad, make, rules

Thread Tools

You are viewing a new design of the TOTV site. Click here to revert to the old version.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 PM.