Carl Hiaasen comes to Syracuse, NY

Closed Thread
Old 11-15-2008, 08:47 AM
Taltarzac
Default Librarians come in all shapes, sizes, and personality.

I went to Library School at the University of Denver (DU) where I got a Masters in Librarianship and Information Management. The various students there as well as the professors were all quite different and I could find few of them who fit the librarian stereotype. In fact, we used to make fun of the little old lady sssshhhhing people in the library stereotype. Many of the public librarians I have been are extremely noisy places. The academic libraries can still have the ssshhhhing ladies and gents often wearing glasses with their hair in a bun. But, the men as well as the women might have their hair in a bun.

A good percentage of the librarians at the University of Denver were from Alaska and seemed to fit more with the Sarah Palin mold rather than with the Marian the Librarian one. http://stason.org/TULARC/education-b...ype-start.html

I have though run across a few librarians who very much fit the Marian the Librarian stereotype.

Last edited by Taltarzac725; 11-15-2008 at 09:00 AM.
Old 11-15-2008, 09:58 AM
Soaring Parsley
Thanked 2,220 Times in 752 Posts

Hey Tal,

I hope Linda and Carl H. do not mind that I keep talking about librarians in their thread. Something tells me though that both of them like librarians, too.

Any really good librarian knows that marketing is a big part of the job, putting the right book, in the right hands, at the right time so that the "customer" wants to come back.

There is also that library thing that says, "When you absolutely, positively have to know, ask a librarian." (They don't know everything, of course, but they know where to find out.)

Anyway, I just have to show you this link. It is a hoot and a half for those of us who know librarians.

And talk about marketing -- this real librarian sure knows what that's about.

http://www.mcphee.com/laf/