Kindle

Closed Thread
Old 04-08-2023, 08:00 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123 View Post
I would recommend a Kindle Ereader, not a Kindle Fire. The largest font size is 14 which has about 3 words per line on a 6-inch screen. I have the Kindle Oasis, which is a bit pricey, but it has the highest resolution. I think the most popular model is the Paperwhite.
My husband and I have been Paperwhite readers for years. Point size goes up to 14. Paperwhite would be better as you don’t get the eye strain nor blue light that you do from a regular Kindle or a tablet.
Old 04-08-2023, 08:14 AM

There are 4 different Kindle types being offered with the Oasis being the high side. Kindle offers a range in font size from 1 to 14, so you simply choose the one that work best for you.

I am an IT professional and help people set up these types of devices (as well as "cutting the cord.")

Please feel free to reach out if you need any assistance.

Cheers!
Old 04-08-2023, 08:15 AM
Default Kindle info

Quote:
Originally Posted by LuvNH View Post
I am low vision and am unable to read like I used tdo do. I am thinking about Kindle, but need to know how much you can enlarge the text. Can someone help me with this please.
Yes, I did this for my mom as her vision deteriorated. Our takeaways:

- fonts can be adjusted on e-readers (both different fonts/typefaces depending on what looks clearer to you and size of font). The paperwhite was great for glare-reduction, as Mom spent a lot of time outdoors in her garden reading. Which models have the best range of font sizes (and backlighting, which can make quite a difference too) would take some research - my info there is out of date.