Quick Overnight Beach Getaway

Closed Thread
Old 08-09-2023, 06:24 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael 61 View Post
Since I’m still a newbie to Florida (just 8 months) - I need a recommendation for a 2-night stay along either the Gulf or Atlantic coasts. So far, since I moved to TV, I’ve visited Clearwater Beach, which was nice, but I’m looking for something a little less crowded. Before moving to Florida, I’ve visited Pensacola/Destin/Lauderdale-Miami/Key West, so I’m familiar with those areas. I’ve been told and read that Daytona Beach isn’t all that great. I’m looking for someplace where I can get really good seafood, has some nice walking trails or boardwalk along the beach, and is relaxing. I want to take advantage of the lower hotel costs this time of year, and before things get really crowded during high season. I’m willing to drive up to 4 hours from The Villages. Any recommendations? Thanks.
We have a condo down on North Hutchinson Island just south of Vero Beach. Lovely beaches in that area unspoiled by commercial enterprise. Disney has a hotel south of Vero, and there are several hotels on South Hutchinson Island, which also has nice beaches and several places to eat. Kyle G's is a favorite.
Old 08-09-2023, 06:31 AM

2nd vote for New Smyrna Beach. Walk/shop Flagler Ave, eat at The Garlic, Breakers or Chase’s on the beach. Wintered there for 5 years prior to owning in Richmond. Miss NSB beach walks!!
Old 08-09-2023, 06:35 AM

Anna Maria and Cortez…lots of fresh seafood and beaches. Do go to St Augustine over the holidays for the Night of Lights- the entire town is decorated for the holidays and it’s beautiful. If you go to Nokomis you can do a side visit to Siesta Key in the evening- the Village has a number of restaurants/bars.
Old 08-09-2023, 06:46 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael 61 View Post