Quick Overnight Beach Getaway

Closed Thread
Old 08-09-2023, 02:57 PM
Veteran member
Thanked 1,640 Times in 444 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomPerry View Post
Try Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, and St. Augustine.
Bingo - This is the one I chose!

Thank you everyone for all the great suggestions, and I most certainly check out each and every one of them over the next year or so - I love getting away for a night or two - a reasonable drive - a good seafood dinner - then being able to spend the night, rather than drive home after dinner.
Old 08-09-2023, 03:10 PM
Default Quick beach getaway

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael 61 View Post
Since I’m still a newbie to Florida (just 8 months) - I need a recommendation for a 2-night stay along either the Gulf or Atlantic coasts. So far, since I moved to TV, I’ve visited Clearwater Beach, which was nice, but I’m looking for something a little less crowded. Before moving to Florida, I’ve visited Pensacola/Destin/Lauderdale-Miami/Key West, so I’m familiar with those areas. I’ve been told and read that Daytona Beach isn’t all that great. I’m looking for someplace where I can get really good seafood, has some nice walking trails or boardwalk along the beach, and is relaxing. I want to take advantage of the lower hotel costs this time of year, and before things get really crowded during high season. I’m willing to drive up to 4 hours from The Villages. Any recommendations? Thanks.

Michael, if you are interested have a 3 night reservation at The Marriott Crystal Shores on Marco Island in a gorgeous 2 br/2 bath timeshare directly on the Gulf which we cannot use for Sept 17-20. It has a full kitchen, but there are some great restaurants directly across the street.
Let me know if interested.
Old 08-10-2023, 12:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael 61 View Post