Viking River Cruise Standard Cabin?

Closed Thread
Old 06-17-2023, 07:47 AM

We stayed in one of those cabins and it was just fine!
We would stay in one of these rooms again! There were several windows that let in a lot of light. On Viking you are not in your room
except to sleep! We were on a fairly new boat.
Old 06-17-2023, 08:12 AM
Veteran member
Thanked 1,076 Times in 432 Posts

Agree that for most people, a standard cabin would work just fine. There are, however, some folks who just can't do it...my wife being one. She is claustrophobic, and being in a small enclosed room with no means of fresh air is very troubling for her. We have done dozens of ocean cruises, always in a balcony cabin. We are doing a Viking river cruise next year, and it will be in a veranda cabin. Her peace of mind and comfort are worth the extra expense.
Old 06-17-2023, 08:23 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmellone View Post
I am a travel agent living in the villages and I have traveled on many river cruises in Europe. There are better river cruise ycompanies than Viking. Avalon, AMA and Uniworld. I steer my customers away from Viking due to the large upfront payment.
I also agree that eyou can get the lesser price cabin and do your viewing on deck.
There are many specials out there, free or discounted air, gratuities, and tours, Work with an agent that had been on the rivers of Europe.
Which ones do you recommend
Old 06-17-2023, 08:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ssouan View Post
Which ones do you recommend
Uniworld is my favorite! Food is much better than Viking, and includes drinks and gratuities.
Old 06-17-2023, 09:00 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DimondAngels View Post
We are planning on taking a Viking River cruise this fall and the only cabin selection left are the standard cabins. These are the cabins that are at water level on the ship.
I am afraid that with no real outside view and such a small cabin space that it might not make for a pleasant stay.