Making your own bread

Closed Thread
Old 05-05-2015, 04:41 PM
Sage
Smile Making your own bread

Hi all

I was wondering if there is anyone out there in TOTV land who makes their own bread. I love sourdough toast in the morning and saw that the recipe calls for sourdough starter. I looked on Amazon and sure enough they sell little dried packets of it for $7. I bought one and I am on day three of feeding it. It seems to be working. Right now I have about 3 cups of starter. I was wondering if anyone has a great recipe for sourdough or tips on breadmaking they would share with me. This is my first time. We love having fresh bread around the house and I have lots of time on my hands. I have a Kitchenaid mixer with a dough hook.
Old 05-05-2015, 07:13 PM
Sage
Location: Summer at the Jersey Shore, Fall in New England [Maine], Winter in TV!

Such an ambitious undertaking! Am sure it will be worth the effort! Once upon a time I did a search on san francisco sourdough bread and printed this to tuck in my cookbook - How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Bread Page-1 - interesting read and recipe is on the second page. Not sure if it beats direct ordering from https://www.boudinbakery.com/index.cfm as I have been known to do! :0

Old 05-05-2015, 07:20 PM
Sage

I can't help you but would like to know how the bread making is going. I'd like to give it a try.
Old 05-06-2015, 03:32 AM
Soaring Eagle member

Years ago, I recall vividly, making sourdough bread. The only problem was the starter had to be fed every few days.
It got to the point where our freezer was loaded with bread, I had to start giving loaves away, and we could never take a vacation because the started had to be fed.

The End!
Old 05-06-2015, 06:17 AM