birdcage question

Closed Thread
Old 01-22-2015, 10:18 PM
Default birdcage question

I am a newbie to Talk of the Villagers and a newbie to Florida. I recently moved to The Villages and had a birdcage built. Is it usual for condensation to drip down the vertical aluminum posts of a bird cage in the morning and puddle on the concrete floor? (There's one particular post, adjacent to the gutter, which definitely accumulates the largest puddle of water.)
... I'm afraid to think about what the puddle(s) will look like during a heavy rainy.

I asked the contractor who built the birdcage about this and he said its all normal. I inquired about caulking the joints at the top of the posts where the water appears to be dripping through. He said that he didn't want to do that as it would create a place for water to sit and become stagnant and moldy.

Any thoughts on this from birdcage owners?
Old 01-23-2015, 02:01 PM

Old 01-24-2015, 08:55 AM
Gold member

I have a gutter in my birdcage that leaks at the 2 joints it has. I have tried to stop the leaks with that spray that guy advertises, don't work. I tried RV self leveling caulk, don't work. I tried a whole gallon of roof cement, don't work. Trying to find a contractor to remove the gutter and dome part of the birdcage and replace with a solid roof. So far, no luck at that either. I would not recommend a birdcage that has a gutter in it.
Old 01-24-2015, 11:19 AM
Sage