Buy and renting the unit out during the year

Closed Thread
Old 04-20-2020, 12:45 PM
Default Buy and renting the unit out during the year

Good afternoon all,

I would like to get opinions on buying a place in The Villages and renting the unit out for part of the year. I was thinking about using the Villages Home Town Property Management. I’m from up north in Chicago and being an airline pilot I would have the ability to fly down as frequently as I want. Can I please have some information from residents and people who are currently doing this?

thanks in advance,

Mark
Old 04-20-2020, 03:15 PM

We have over the last 15 years owned and rented out many villas. It is easy to rent out a patio villa in winter months,if you have 5-6 months rental , that will usually pay for the villa costs the rest of the year--but only if you are willing to do all the work yourself.

However, letting The Villages Property Management handle all for you is costly and you cannot expect to make much if any profit. I would only go this route if you want to purchase for your own enjoyment and use sometime in the future.

Having said all that, the way to actually make the most profit is to purchase, hold, then sell within a reasonable time frame as the rising cost of the villas is the best benefit, at least for now--who knows what future will bring.
Old 04-20-2020, 05:06 PM
Sage
Location: village of Fenney, Ford City, Pa., and Hudson, Ohio
Thanked 4,340 Times in 1,448 Posts

We use Hometown, unfurnished long term is 15%, furnished short term I believe is 20% and they take care of any complaints, etc. More importantly is the bond if you are interested in profit. Some villas have much higher bonds than others so checkout all the costs before you make a decision.
Old 04-20-2020, 05:24 PM