Dehumidifier & Air Conditioning ?

Closed Thread
Old 06-04-2017, 09:31 AM
Veteran member
Default Dehumidifier & Air Conditioning ?

I'm new to the villages and am wondering if anyone has efficiently and economically utilized both an air conditioner and dehumidifier, to combat this heat. If so, what technique is best.
Old 06-04-2017, 09:47 AM
Sage
Thanked 5,507 Times in 1,907 Posts
Send a message via AIM to graciegirl

Quote:
Originally Posted by SFSkol View Post
I'm new to the villages and am wondering if anyone has efficiently and economically utilized both an air conditioner and dehumidifier, to combat this heat. If so, what technique is best.
Our air conditioning is super here. We have a concrete block house and it holds cool in nicely. Much cheaper to air condition than home up North.

Some people have dehumidifiers but we don't and don't see the need.
Old 06-04-2017, 10:02 AM
Platinum member
Thanked 2,347 Times in 735 Posts

I believe, if you have a home with 60% or less humidity you are wasting your resources on a dehumidifier. I manage my home remotely by humidity, not temp. I can assure you that this year a home with a temp of 84 degrees or less has a humidity of 60 or less.

This begs the question, do you want to live in a temperature controller environment of 84? So, you will have the A.C. Set lower, and lose humidity as well. My thermostat e-mails me if the humidity gets too high. Not sure about the builders grade thermostat. Right now I have renters, they have it set for 77, the humidity is 55%

Last edited by Toymeister; 06-04-2017 at 10:07 AM.
Old 06-04-2017, 10:39 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
I believe, if you have a home with 60% or less humidity you are wasting your resources on a dehumidifier. I manage my home remotely by humidity, not temp. I can assure you that this year a home with a temp of 84 degrees or less has a humidity of 60 or less.