Dish vs Direct vs Comcast, etc

Closed Thread
Old 01-04-2013, 04:44 PM
Sage
Default Dish vs Direct vs Comcast, etc

I tried to search for this information 'cause I remember reading threads about these questions, but for the life of me can't find anything.

So bare with me as I request information on Dish and Direct. I currently have Comcast and think their pricing is out of control. Have had Direct in another location and was happy with them, but am leaning towards Dish who I have no experience with. Any input would be appreciated.

I know about the outages with storm, so this isn't really an issue for me.

Thanks for any information you might provide.
Old 01-04-2013, 06:17 PM

i am wondering the same thing. comcast is very expensive
Old 01-04-2013, 07:26 PM

Other than price, we never had a bit of problem with Comcast here. However when AAA advertised a very attractive DirecTV discount, we made the switch. We have had VERY infrequent outages due to storms and certainly not enough to warrant another change - probably less than we had with DirecTV 'up north' with snow/ice on the antenna. I believe the picture quality to be equivalent to Comcast but the big advantages for us are:
  • A larger library of 'On Demand' content.
  • 2-3 channels of 3D content.
  • We have music playing a lot and DirecTV has a bigger selection of music channels + access to Pandora.

So far, we are very satisfied with DirecTV and have no reason to change.

Good luck
Old 01-04-2013, 07:59 PM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markam View Post
Other than price, we never had a bit of problem with Comcast here. However when AAA advertised a very attractive DirecTV discount, we made the switch. We have had VERY infrequent outages due to storms and certainly not enough to warrant another change - probably less than we had with DirecTV 'up north' with snow/ice on the antenna. I believe the picture quality to be equivalent to Comcast but the big advantages for us are: