Firemen & EMT's

Closed Thread
Old 06-26-2014, 08:18 PM
Sage
Thanked 5,507 Times in 1,907 Posts
Send a message via AIM to graciegirl

Quote:
Originally Posted by DangeloInspections View Post
Well, against my better judgement, I will post. I should bite my tongue, but sometimes I find it hard to.

In my previous life, I was a carrier firefighter/medic/EMS Instructor in New York State. (IAFF Union Local 896).

I loved my job. I think I was paid well, but there were days where I earned my whole pay in 5 minutes. I did and saw things most could not or would not do. I've pulled folks out of burning buildings, cut people out of unrecognizable vehicles, pushed drugs and IV's into people trying to keep them alive, etc,etc.

I loved my job. I worked crazy hours, holidays, etc. Missed birthday parties, etc.....no complaints, as it was the career I chose and I knew the deal.

Yes, I slept at night.....sometimes. There were also nights when I did not, going to one call after another. When a firefighter sleeps, it is always a light sleep. You go from pillow to turnouts in less then a minute, and out the door driving to a fire in less then a minute. You instantly know the address, where it is and the best way to get there. Where to park the rig, where the hydrants are, etc,etc.

It was a great job, as no two days were the same.

So..now I'm retired with a good firefighter pension. I move to Florida. I find out my taxes and cost of living are much less down here. I also meet the local firefighter's and medics. I see many of them are Paramedics. Good. I see they make way less then I did. Sad.

I see my taxes are way less then they were in NY. I guess that is good.....but I'm also smart enough to know that as I get older, my chances of needing a good Paramedic/EMS crew goes up significantly.