Golf Cart rules of the road.

Closed Thread
Old 11-25-2020, 07:13 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_W View Post
I've driven St. Charles everyday for the past 9-1/2 years since I have lived in Tamarind Grove. I found about 1 car driver in 50 will do this, and it actually makes more sense and I've been doing for about 5 years.

Just like a cart driver when they see spacing will merge into the car lane when wanting to make a left. As a car driven wanting to make a right turn and there are carts in the cart lane to the right of me, I select whether I'm going ahead or behind the cart and move over into the cart lane with my car about 3' or halfway into the cart lane and of course my right turn signal was already applied. This leaves no doubt in anyone's mind where my sequence for turning is going to be. There's absolutely no way a cart will be next to me, I've eliminated every problem that could have arisen simply by merging slightly into the cart lane. I do this almost everyday since I have to make a right turn onto Southern Star Way (Tamarind Grove Blvd) when coming from the south and have not had a problem for over 5 years with this method.

I wish all drivers in TV would learn to do this, just like cart drivers learn to merge left, until you see that one cart driver about once month who seems to want to make a left from the cart lane. This fellow tried that 3 yeas ago on O'Dell and was killed.

The Villages Florida
I wondered about doing just that, while driving a car. Makes a lot of sense if its "legal". I saw something about getting a ticket for driving in the cart lane but I think in this circumstance it is the safest way to go.
I once had a cart pull up and take a right at the stop sign on Tamarind Grove Run onto St. Charles. I was looking left and when I pulled out to turn right the cart had already rounded the corner and was right next to me. If I had turned a little sharper I would have run him up on the curb