Is homeowner self insurance possible in The Villages?

Old 05-09-2024, 07:58 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemalloy View Post
I have some experience with insurance companies created by groups such as doctors when their insurance costs had large increases. It appears to me that the current rise in insurance premiums comes from a combination of increases in cost of repairs such as lumber prices, and the losses they sustained from hurricane Ivan.
It seems to me that The Villages is located far enough away from the coast that severe damage from hurricanes is a slight threat. Similarly, the flooding damages we've seen like those along the St. John's river are also much less likely here. I wonder if we in The Villages are subsidizing the risks found in areas susceptible to catastropic damages.
My question is, would it be possible for The Villages residents to self insure? Could we form our own insurance company? I"m not familiar with what the state requirements are for capitalizing an insurance company perhaps some of you have some information about that.
I'm sure that the premiums we are paying are much higher than they need to be and that self insuring if possible would be a benefit to us all. Thoughts?
2007 tornado wiped out homes in the Villages. Block and stucco survived but not stick houses.
Old 05-09-2024, 07:58 AM

Sounds like you and 4,999 homeowners would be rolling the dice
with self insuring 5000 homes . Better option would be to self insure your home with no mortgage and see how you would sleep at night .
Would you hire a contractor who self insures their business?
Old 05-09-2024, 08:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nn0wheremann View Post