Is homeowner self insurance possible in The Villages?

Old 05-09-2024, 08:48 PM
Sage
Thanked 5,001 Times in 2,500 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemalloy View Post
I have some experience with insurance companies created by groups such as doctors when their insurance costs had large increases. It appears to me that the current rise in insurance premiums comes from a combination of increases in cost of repairs such as lumber prices, and the losses they sustained from hurricane Ivan.
It seems to me that The Villages is located far enough away from the coast that severe damage from hurricanes is a slight threat. Similarly, the flooding damages we've seen like those along the St. John's river are also much less likely here. I wonder if we in The Villages are subsidizing the risks found in areas susceptible to catastropic damages.
My question is, would it be possible for The Villages residents to self insure? Could we form our own insurance company? I"m not familiar with what the state requirements are for capitalizing an insurance company perhaps some of you have some information about that.
I'm sure that the premiums we are paying are much higher than they need to be and that self insuring if possible would be a benefit to us all. Thoughts?
So you want get into legalized racketeering? Sorry only few sorority members are allowed.
Old 05-10-2024, 06:07 AM
Soaring Eagle member
Location: Drayton Plains, MI, Vietnam, Waterford, MI, Pennacamp, Fernandina, Duval, 1 retired in Richmond
Thanked 1,628 Times in 598 Posts

At our last renewal, we got an email and a letter asking if we wanted to change or drop the Hurricane part of our policy. Savings $689, policy would drop to $429 premium.

Still waiting for what would be covered if we went that route. So sort of self insured, but no mortgage company would allow that clause to be deleted.
Old 05-10-2024, 06:43 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dewilson58 View Post