I hate to be ripped off.....(roofing shingles)

Closed Thread
Old 09-12-2017, 09:37 PM
Veteran member
Default I hate to be ripped off.....(roofing shingles)

First let me say I am not an novice when discussing roofing shingles. I retired from a company that at one time was one of the largest shingle manufactures in the world. In my younger management days I was in charge of roofing complaints and did over 700 per year. Frist, roofing shingles are not as wind resistant and pliable as they once were since they are not made from "rag felt" but have a fiberglass mat base. It is even more important now that the installation be correct or the shingle will not seal correctly. If the roofer places a nail from a pneumatic gun too close or in the seal strip then the shingle will not seal correctly. I currently own two homes in TV and the one I live in is less than two years old. We lost over thirty shingles in under 110 mph winds on this home (not a single one on the other) and this should not have happened. I live in North Labelle and drove the entire neighborhood yesterday and my home and one other were the only that lost shingles. I am going to post a photo of two of the thirty plus shingles I retrieved from my lawn yesterday morning. Neither of my neighbors or anyone on our street lost any shingles. I called the insurance company yesterday morning and they returned my call today say to that they will send out someone to cover parts of my roof with a tarp before repair. They also reminded me that the insurance is $500 deductible. I would estimate my repairs will be some where around $750 to $1000 and I will be out the $500. I finally got through to the warranty dept in TV today and they quickly stated this is an insurance issue and not a warranty issue. I do not believe anyone who lost shingles with nail holes in the seal stripe should have to pay anything. If you are in my position and want to join me in a demand letter to the builders and TV then send me a private messag