main water shutoff ?

Old 05-05-2024, 06:24 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveCanada View Post
does this look like the main shut off ? guess you turn with socket to close ? I want to cut pvc in garage and install a easy access shutoff. cant find a main shutoff in garage just sprinklers
I am a Home Inspector. I report on the main water shutoffs on every report.

You're looking at the utility shut off. You can use that in an emergency or if your valve is damaged.

You do have a valve somewhere for the home that is for your use. Every home in TV has one. If it is not in the garage, it is outside within about 18 inches of the wall of your home.

They are often buried under mulch and dirt.

The easiest way to find it, is to stand on the utility box, hold your arms about 25 degrees apart as you face your home. The valve will be somewhere in that angle, usually within about 10 feet of the corner.

The chances that the valve will be functional are pretty low. I always recommend people have a curb key in the garage, you can buy them at Home Depot for about $20. These are made to turn off the water on the valve you have pictured.

I would recommend getting a plumber to relocate your shutoff valve to the inside of your garage. Make sure they install a ball valve, not a gate valve.
Old 05-05-2024, 06:33 AM
Veteran member
Thanked 1,113 Times in 306 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hape2Bhr View Post
We have a courtyard villa with a PVC shutoff outside the garage about one foot off the ground. Inside, before the filtering system there is another PVC shutoff. Neither will turn enough to physically shut off the water; both stop turning at about an 1/8 of a turn rather than a 1/4 turn. It feels as though forcing it further will be doing some sort of damage. Any suggestions I could attempt, or do I need a plumber?