Is it me or 2 lane roundabouts just don't work?

Closed Thread
Old 02-11-2021, 11:39 AM
Sage
Thanked 7,371 Times in 2,517 Posts

See your Reverse Mortgage, and raise 150 covid masks.
Old 02-11-2021, 11:44 AM
Default Better Round-A-Bout Design

I have been navigating round-a-bouts for close to 50 years and find them extremely efficient when properly driven. Unfortunately, many, probability a majority, of people driving in The Villages don't drive them properly.

The design of the round-a-bout on Hilton Head Island shown below, while not optimum for traffic flow, would work very well in this area.
Attached Thumbnails
The Villages Florida: Click image for larger version

Name:	Round-about Hilton Head Island.jpg
Views:	360
Size:	93.7 KB
ID:	88123  
Old 02-11-2021, 11:47 AM

I think Roundabouts are fun! Where else can you make a right turn from the left lane, not look or use a turn signal? Try it on the interstate, people get ****ed and blow their horns! The nerve!
Old 02-11-2021, 11:58 AM
Platinum member
Thanked 1,203 Times in 569 Posts

Okay, I'll change it up a little. Since John put up the diagram of the regular intersection left turn I'll throw this out. Why do people here when in the left turn lane stay behind the solid white line when the light is green or arrow flashing yellow? I already checked with a retired Florida LEO who said there is no law against entering into the intersection while waiting to make a left turn. The worst are the drivers who stay behind the solid white line and make their turn after the light turns red which is insane.

Last edited by Bilyclub; 02-11-2021 at 12:05 PM.
Old 02-11-2021, 12:04 PM
Sage
Location: South of 466a, if you don't like me.......I live in Orlando.
Thanked 9,777 Times in 3,645 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilyclub View Post
Why do people here when in the left turn lane stay behind the solid white line when the light is green or arrow flashing yellow?