Barking dogs in courtyard villas??

Closed Thread
Old 07-06-2013, 02:09 PM
Default Barking dogs in courtyard villas??

I'm thinking of downsizing and considering either a patio villa or courtyard villa. I am a full time resident and both homes have pros and cons but ever since I moved to TV 4 years ago, I've been warned by some that to sit on the lanai of your courtyard villa may not be a quiet experience since lots of owners leave their dogs in the yard while they are not home and the dogs bark. I am a dog owner but would never just leave my dog outside while I'm out. I totally enjoy using my lanai to read and am wondering if anyone could share any pro and con experiences about this. The patio villas do not have this problem but I'm concerned about having only rental neighbors if I purchase one. Any comments would be welcome...

Thanks!
Old 07-06-2013, 02:23 PM
Sage

Quote:
Originally Posted by angel222 View Post
I'm thinking of downsizing and considering either a patio villa or courtyard villa. I am a full time resident and both homes have pros and cons but ever since I moved to TV 4 years ago, I've been warned by some that to sit on the lanai of your courtyard villa may not be a quiet experience since lots of owners leave their dogs in the yard while they are not home and the dogs bark. I am a dog owner but would never just leave my dog outside while I'm out. I totally enjoy using my lanai to read and am wondering if anyone could share any pro and con experiences about this. The patio villas do not have this problem but I'm concerned about having only rental neighbors if I purchase one. Any comments would be welcome... Thanks!
I think there are just as many barking dogs in patio villas as in courtyard villas. And when dogs are left in the front screened area of a patio villa, there is no wall between you and the barks.

However, I think most residents are very considerate and respectful of their neighbours, and will leave their dogs indoors when they go out.